项目介绍

背景

该客户是一家总部位于法国的350公司,自1996以来一直在印度开展业务,并生产太阳能控制,防火和其他各种类型的玻璃。 自那时起,客户已经实现了强劲且有利可图的增长,今天,它是所有主要业务的领导者,拥有25生产基地和印度的6,500员工。

挑战

客户在古吉拉特邦的制造工厂需要一个用于锅炉应用(蒸汽生产)的脱盐水系统。 水源是古吉拉特邦工业发展公司(GIDC)的水。 选择的水处理配置是澄清,沉降过滤,反渗透和最终抛光机。 客户对反渗透后的最终抛光装置有两种选择,无论是混床抛光机还是电去离子(EDI)装置,由于该技术提供的各种优点,他们选择EDI。

客户水处理厂的关键设计元素是EDI系统,其能够承受作为CaCO3的3 ppm的进料硬度。 传统的EDI技术设计为使用硬度高达1.0 ppm的水作为CaCO3,以防止装置内部结垢。

由于客户的工厂设计有单程RO,因此RO渗透液的硬度预计在3ppm的范围内。 需要仔细选择EDI技术,以确保系统不会因硬度调节而需要频繁的化学清洁,并且不会中断运行。

QUA解决方案

经过详细的技术和商业评估, QUA的 FEDI 选择1 30X型,其硬度容差为CaCO3,最高可达3ppm,用于电去离子抛光工艺。 该 FEDI 因此,1模型为OEM和客户提供了高进给硬度的解决方案,该解决方案将使用单通RO渗透液,而无需投资二次通过RO。 它使客户能够节省第二次通过RO的成本,这可能是他们在任何其他EDI系统中产生的。

关于FEDI技术

电去离子是一种连续的无化学过程,使用直流电源从给水中去除电离和可电离的杂质。 EDI最常用于处理反渗透渗透液并取代混床(MB)离子交换; 生产高达18MΩ/ cm的高纯水。 EDI消除了存储和处理MB离子交换树脂再生和相关废物中和步骤所需的危险化学品的需要。 与混床相比,EDI具有更低的空间要求,低运营成本和快速的投资回报; 并在连续一致的基础上生产高达18MΩ/ cm的高品质产品水质。

选择一种EDI系统,该系统将与单程反渗透给水一起使用,维护量少,从而可节省大量资金,空间和运维成本,从而使该解决方案有效且可靠。

在详细评估了各种EDI选项后,客户发现了 QUA® 分数电去离子(FEDI®) 是唯一能够在进料中承受3 ppm硬度CaCO3的技术。

FEDI是EDI技术的一项进步,旨在解决传统EDI的局限性。 FEDI的 获得专利的双电压工艺可实现更高的灵活性和对进水条件的耐受性,从而降低结垢风险,并提高工厂的设计经济性和可靠性。

这两种技术之间的关键区别在于,不是像传统的电去离子那样向整个模块施加一个电流,而是 FEDI 该过程通过使用两阶段过程来区分弱电离和强电离杂质的去除。 这允许大部分强电离杂质,主要是在较高电压下引起沉淀的二价离子,在第一阶段使用较低电流除去。 随后,施加更高的电压以在第二阶段中除去诸如二氧化硅的弱电离杂质。

FEDI的 专利设计可保持酸性条件,从而降低第一阶段的结垢潜力和基本条件,有助于在EDI浓缩室的第二阶段有效去除二氧化硅。

结果

QUA 提供4 FEDI堆栈,于9月2017投入使用。 该 FEDI 系统设计用于抛光RO渗透物的12m3 / hr,最终产物水电导率小于0.5 microS / cm,其进一步用作锅炉进料。 该 FEDI 系统自调试以来一直处于连续运行状态,并且始终如一地提供优质的产品水质和低导电性。 这些EDI装置在最近两年的运行中不需要任何化学清洁。

阅读 更多.

Glass Manufacturer Case Study

QQ图片20170508095247 (002)

Background

The client, a 350 year old company headquartered in France, has had a presence in India since 1996 and manufactures solar control, fire resistant and other various types of glass. The client has achieved strong and profitable growth since then, and today, is a leader in all its major businesses, with 25 manufacturing sites and about 6,500 employees in India.

The Challenge

The client required a demineralized water system for its boiler application (steam production) in its manufacturing facility in Gujarat. The water source is Gujarat Industrial Development Corporation (GIDC) water. The water treatment configuration selected was clarification, settling filtration, reverse osmosis and final polisher. The client had two choices for the final polishing unit after reverse osmosis, either a mixed bed polisher or an electrodeionization (EDI) unit, they chose EDI because of various advantages offered by the technology.

The key design element of the client’s water treatment plant was an EDI system which can withstand feed hardness of 3 ppm as CaCO3. Conventional EDI technologies are designed to operate with water with a hardness of up to 1.0 ppm as CaCO3, to prevent scaling inside the unit.

Since the client’s plant was designed with a single-pass RO, the hardness in the RO permeate was expected to be in the range of 3ppm. Careful selection of the EDI technology was required to ensure that the system would not require frequent chemical cleaning on account of hardness scaling and would operate without interruption.

QUA Solution

After detailed technical and commercial evaluation, QUA’s FEDI 1 30X model, which has hardness tolerance of up to 3ppm as CaCO3, was selected for the electrodeionization polishing process. The FEDI 1 model thus provided the OEM and the client with a solution for the high feed hardness, which will operate with single-pass RO permeate, without having to invest in a second pass RO. It enabled the client to save on the cost of a second pass RO, which they would have incurred with any another EDI system.

About FEDI Technology

Electrodeionization is a continuous, chemical-free process that removes ionized and ionizable impurities from the feed water using DC power. EDI is most commonly used to treat reverse osmosis permeate and replaces Mixed Bed (MB) ion exchange; producing high purity water of up to 18 M Ω/cm. EDI eliminates the need to store and handle hazardous chemicals required for MB ion exchange resin regeneration and associated waste neutralization steps. EDI has a much lower space requirement, a low operating cost, and a quick return on investment in comparison to mixed bed; and produces high grade product water quality up to 18 M Ω/cm on a continuous and consistent basis.

Choosing an EDI system which will operate with single-pass RO feed water with less maintenance results in significant capital, space, and O&M savings that makes the solution effective and reliable.

After detailed evaluation of various EDI options, the customer found QUA® Fractional Electrodeionization (FEDI®) to be the only technology which could withstand hardness of 3 ppm as CaCO3 in the feed.

FEDI is an advancement in EDI technology which was developed to address the limitations of conventional EDI. FEDI’s patented dual voltage process allows for a higher flexibility and tolerance to inlet water conditions, thus lowering the risk of scaling, and improving the plant’s design economics and reliability.

The key difference between the two technologies is that rather than applying one current to the entire module as in conventional electrodeionization, the FEDI process differentiates the removal of weakly ionized and strongly ionized impurities by using a two-stage process. This allows a significant portion of strongly ionized impurities mainly the divalent ions which cause precipitation at higher voltage, to be removed in the first stage using lower current. Subsequently, a higher voltage is applied for removal of weakly ionized impurities such as silica in the second stage.

FEDI’s patented design maintains an acidic condition, thus reducing the scaling potential in the first stage and basic condition which helps in efficient removal of silica in the second stage of the EDI concentrate compartment.

Result

QUA supplied 4 FEDI stacks, which were commissioned in September 2017. The FEDI system is designed to polish 12m3/hr of RO permeate with final product water conductivity of less than 0.5 microS/cm which is further used as boiler feed. The FEDI system has been in continuous operation since commissioning, and is delivering consistently superior product water quality with low conductivity. These EDI units have not required any chemical cleaning during last two years of operation.

Read more.

Related Portfolio