分数电去离子(FEDI)过程

多年前在20上发明的电去离子(EDI)工艺是一种连续,无化学方法,可去除给水中的离子化和可电离杂质。 EDI最常用于治疗反渗透(RO); 渗透和替代混床(MB)离子交换; 生产高达18MΩ.cm的高纯水。 EDI消除了存储和处理树脂再生和相关中和步骤所需的危险化学品的需要。

QUA的分数电去离子(FEDI)过程是EDI的进步,并且是考虑到传统EDI的局限性而开发的。 FEDI现已进入市场超过五年,并已安装在发电站,炼油厂等。 提供的这些FEDI系统中有许多是世界上最大的安装系统。

获得专利的双电压工艺可实现更高的灵活性和对进水条件的耐受性,从而降低结垢风险,并提高工厂的设计经济性和可靠性。 FEDI产品支持CE合格证书。

FEDI技术

把一个好的技术做得更好

在EDI过程中有两种类型的离子杂质被去除; 强离子化的杂质(二价离子如Ca,Mg,SO4 和一价离子,如Na,Cl和HCO3)和弱离子化杂质(如CO2 B和SiO2)。 两种类型的离子杂质都需要不同的驱动力(电流)来移动和分离。 强离子化杂质需要较少的电流,而较弱离子化的杂质需要更多。 FEDI过程并不是将一个电流施加到整个模块上,而是通过在两个阶段过程中施加不同的电流和电压来区分对弱离子化和强离子化杂质的处理。 这允许在-1阶段中去除大部分强离子化的杂质,主要是可导致在较高电压下沉淀的二价离子。 随后,施加更高的电压以去除Stage-2中弱电离的杂质。 来自两个阶段的被排除的离子被使用单独的废弃物流去除,从而防止硬度沉淀。

分数电去离子过程

请点击图片进行演示。

FEDI两阶段分离

硬度是比例分量,是传统EDI中进料条件的主要限制因素。 通过采用不同电压的两级分离过程,FEDI过程能够:

  • 通过具有独立的不合格料流的明显不同的浓缩室来实现更高的硬度公差,从而降低硬度标定的可能性。
  • 仅在需要时使用更高的电流来优化功耗。
  • 通过去除“硬度去除区”中的大部分去离子负载来确保最佳的水质,连续地和一致地去除残余的离子杂质,其中“去除硅的区域”中的残留离子杂质被保留在抛光模式中。

FEDI的优势:

MB

EDI

FEDI®

能够产生超纯水而不必排放化学负荷再生废物流

X

处理水质改善

从1 MWcm高纯水生产18M.W.cm超纯水,含有很低的二氧化硅和硼

操作方便

X

灵活处理由双电压操作引起的进料条件变化

N / A

X

较高的饲料硬度公差,从而避免或消除组件缩放

N / A

X

有效和高效地去除弱离子和强离子杂质

N / A

X

最佳的功耗

N / A

X

Fractional Electrodeionization (FEDI) Process

The Electrodeionization (EDI) process, invented over 20 years ago, is a continuous, chemical-free method that removes ionized and ionizable impurities from the feed water. EDI is most commonly used to treat Reverse Osmosis (RO); permeate and replace Mixed Bed (MB) ion exchange; producing high purity water of up to 18 M Ω.cm. EDI eliminates the need to store and handle hazardous chemicals required for resin regeneration and the associated neutralization steps.

QUA’s Fractional Electrodeionization (FEDI) process is an advancement of EDI and was developed by taking into account the limitations of conventional EDI. FEDI has been in the market for over five years now and has been installed in power stations, refineries, and more. Many of these FEDI systems supplied are some of the largest installed systems in the world.

The patented dual voltage process allows for a higher flexibility and tolerance to inlet water conditions, thus lowering the risk of scaling, and improving the plant’s design economics and reliability. FEDI products are supported with CE conformity certificates.

FEDI Technology

Making a good technology even better

There are two types of ionic impurities removed in an EDI process; strongly ionized impurities (divalent ions such as Ca, Mg, SO4 and monovalent ions such as Na, Cl and HCO3) and weakly ionized impurities (such as CO2 B and SiO2). Both types of ionic impurities require a different driving force (current) for movement and separation. Strongly ionized impurities require less current, whereas weakly ionized impurities require more. Rather than applying one current to the entire module, the FEDI process differentiates the treatment of weakly ionized and strongly ionized impurities by applying different currents and voltages in a two stage process. This allows a significant portion of strongly ionized impurities, mainly the divalent ions, which can cause precipitation at a higher voltage, to be removed in Stage-1. Subsequently, a higher voltage is applied for removing weakly ionized impurities in Stage-2. The rejected ions from both stages are removed, using separate reject streams, thus preventing hardness precipitation.

Fractional Electrodeionization Process

Please click image for demonstration.

FEDI Two Stage Separation

Hardness is the scaling component and the main limiting factor for feed conditions in a conventional EDI. By incorporating a two-stage separation process with different voltages the FEDI process is able to:

  • Achieve a higher hardness tolerance by having distinctly different concentrate chambers with separate reject streams and thus reducing the potential of hardness scaling.
  • Optimize power consumption by using higher electrical current only where required.
  • Ensure the best water quality, continuously & consistently by removing a major part of the deionization load in the ‘hardness removal zone’, while residual ionic impurities are effectively removed in the ‘silica removal zone’, which stays in a polishing mode.

Advantages to FEDI:

 

MB

EDI

FEDI®

Capable of generating ultra-pure water without having to discharge chemical laden regeneration waste streams

X

Treated Water Quality Improvements

Produces from 1 M.W.cm high purity water to 18M.W.cm ultra-pure water with very low levels of silica & boron

Ease of operation

X

Flexibility to handle feed condition variations due to dual voltage operation

N/A

X

Higher feed hardness tolerance, thus avoiding or eliminating module scaling

N/A

X

Effective and efficient removal of weakly and strongly ionized impurities

N/A

X

Optimum power consumption

N/A

X